Labels

Showing posts with label Baguio. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Baguio. Show all posts

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Wood Nymph 1

My hubby and I love Korean food and the best restaurant for us that serves K-food here in Baguio is Woodnymph.

They have 3 branches here in Baguio but the one I am featuring right now are the foods we ate and we always order at their SM Baguio Branch. 

Introduced by my cousin, Sarah who taught Korean students before, are my favorites since then until today. These are: 

Jeeyukbukom

It's made of thinly sliced pork belly, cabbage and carrots and some other vegetables cooked with Korean spices and sugar (it's kinda sweet). I love eating this.
I captured the elegant carrot flower they made as a decoration to the plate. 



And we usually have jeeyukbukom with: 

Sundobuchigee. It is a seafood soup with shells and clams with soft tofu and soft soft egg with spicy broth,.. as in Whoooooo spicy.. My hubby and I can't get enough of this even if our nose runs because of the heat
Aside from these two of course are the side dishes. We especially love the "honeyed" marble potatoes and kim chi. I love also the sweet and cool sprouts because it balances out the heat and spiciness of the foods.

Best to drink water with these viands and usually get a dessert of cool Melona ice cream bar. :) Yum! 

Grumpy Joe 2

We've been to Grumpy Joe quite a few times and I am happy to see that I have pics on the last time we ate there months ago with my hubby and cousin which I haven't posted.

I love their pasta there and so the three of us decided to get their marinara pasta:




Perper was delighted with the serving and the no. of seafoods in the pasta. It was tasty.

I ordered a cheeseburger to be shared with the three of us. This was our first time to try their burger and we were not disappointed. It isn't really that special but it's good compared to others. There was a side dish of coleslaw and ketchup and mayonnaise as condiments. It was served in a circular wooden board for that rustic appearance.




And, we had their Mexican pizza! There was ranch dressing on top of the nacho chips. It was good. Although I love their signature Grumpy Joe pizza or the pepperoni with jalapenos  better than this. See related post.


And for refreshments, we got: water! Served in mason jar.

We needed water because of this toxic waste! Hot! Toxic indeed ;)

It was a nice experience since we have bonded with a cousin but I loved the first one compared to this in terms of the food we chose to eat.

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Sage Part2

This post was supposed to be done the previous year but then well, I am a busy :p person so here it is.

This was our date with hubby... we had taco. The contents were yummy but the shell was deep fried layers of what seemed like thin dough... it would have been better if they used corn tacos.



We also had their beef sub... it was yum-o but the chips were commercial v-cut chips..we were kinda hoping they'd have their own potato chips 


 And for drinks, we got their strawberry shake..refreshing!


I really love the colors in that foodie place :) 

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Ungrumpy at Grumpy Joe's

I first encountered Grump Joe's from a friend's post at FB. So when I got the chance to eat there with hubby, we grabbed the opportunity. It was 6:00 pm on a Sunday but we were already second in line waiting to have a table. The place is a bit small but it I guess, there are really many patrons. Most of them are young ones like us... hahahah! Usually, students and yuppies who go for affordable, reasonable yet yummy foods.

And we were not disappointed. The place can give many pasta, burger and pizza joints a run for their money. 

We opted for the best sellers so that we could get a feel of the resto's strengths.

For drinks we got malunggay calamansi juice for me, and Oliver had the same but with syrup and whipped cream... they are bottled using garapons:



Guess which had the best taste? The one with cream and syrup, of course. :p

We also had creamy pesto and seafood pasta--truly a winner:

 There were 6 shrimps and some squids and tahong... yeah, I counted them..hahahah!.. Most of the time, restaurants give 2 for marinara or seafood pesto.. you are lucky if you get 3 for a price of Php 190.00. We had 6. 

We tried also their yummy lasagna...
Truly delisyoso... and the best of all their pizza:
We had the Pepperoni Pizza (Left) and Grumpy Joe (right) pizza.. you can choose 2 flavors just like Don Henrico's. Their Pepperoni Pizza has jalapeno peppers in it and anchovies... It was spicy but I loved it better than their Grumpy Joe.

I just noted some similarities between the Grumpy Joe pizza and Don Henrico's pizza and also their lasagna's with that of the latter.. I don't know if they inteded to copy the flavors but they are similar in taste but in presentation and prices, these are different. 

Ultimately, we enjoyed our dinner and the long lines of people waiting to be seated are proofs that Grumpy Joe offers good or rather, great tasting food.

Monday, November 4, 2013

Spanish tapas at Te Quiero

This entry is way past overdue since my food experience happened on one unexpected night when hubby and I had to send a parcel to Victory Liner Baguio Bus Station one May evening this year. We got stuck there since it suddenly rained. We brought our scooter with us and it's no fun at all to ride when the rain is pouring on you while you are riding with some lightning and thunderstorm taking place.

Thus, we had to stay there for a while. It was dinner time so we scoured the place. We opted not to eat pizza and donuts and decided instead to eat at  Te Quiero Tapas Bar at the Victory Bus. It was a good thing we bought enough cash to cover our meals because it was a buffet Friday. And the buffet costs Php 350.00 each. So even if we were way underdressed - Oliver with his jogging pants and work shirt and me also with my oversized jeans, tshirt and tsinelas - we braved the "kasosyalan" of some of the clients and ate.


Dining there provided us an opportunity to know what tapas are. According to About.com, tapas are snacks, canapés or finger food that originated in Spain which can be practically anything from a chunk of tuna, cocktail onion and an olive skewered on a long toothpick, to piping hot meat with sauce served in a miniature clay dish - or anything in between. 

The pictures do not really justify the colors of the food since I captured these using  my lowly cellphone but I just wanted to share what we ate:

The plate here contains chicken skewer, potatoes, a sausage, mussels, salsa salad and the one in the spoon is a deviled egg-- so yummy.

In this plate, we have some macaroni and I forgot what was on the right -- this was 6 months ago..hehehhe!!! I remember the taste of the macaroni though-- it tasted a bit cheesy. Masarap. :)
This is another view of the chicken skewers with their dynamite lumpia -- spring roll of sili and cheese.. appetizing:
We also had their salad with vinaigrette dressing. I loved this very much:



This is their roast chicken which was a bit ordinary for me.

Their sausage was spicy! We loved its taste.
  Trying to control our fat intake, we tasted their lechon --masarap!!!



This is the buffet and dining area of the resto:

I like the taste of spice and vinegar that''s why I appreciated what we had at Te Quiero buffet.  I give it the buffet  7.5/10 for the buffet but I was expecting more viands and maybe dessert or a free sweet drink afterwards. I cannot vouch for their other foods on the menu that was not served in the buffet. Although there were great reviews on them.

Te Quiero is located at the Second Floor of Victory Bus Station Baguio at the side of Microtel Baguio.

Monday, October 28, 2013

Sage - Pink, Green and Violet :)

Last weekend, I got to spend time with my friends and dine at this quaint place called Sage (just like the song with the herbs rosemary, sage and thyme). I never expected the place to be pretty nor eat there so  I was not armed with a proper camera except my phone's. It's great that  the pictures turned out nice.

Now for the place-- it's so pretty!!! Here are some proofs!

The "lobby"/waiting area and their white and pink Christmas tree:



Their white and pink Christmas Tree:



posing kunwari mabangong fresh roses ang nandun :p
I love their dining hall's colors and the windows!!!
The ceiling of the booths area is lined with these:


The theme of using oval ornaments can be seen reflected outside as well before the lobby:

And each table has a violet plant or two like ours. The pot is also nice :) :

For the foods, we had the yummy giant platter of nachos: Php 180.00. It came with 4 "sauces" - cheese, ranch, salsa and I forgot the other one hehehe! We just poured all the sauces on top! Lots of vegetables in this dish - we loved it!



I am digging in it :p

We also had puttanesca and pesto (sorry I forgot the prices :( )


The puttanesca was ordinary and so is the pesto -- I had better ones but they are still average to above average.

We also had chimichangas. According to their menu this is a Mexican dish and it is composed of potatoes and chicken wrapped in tortilla and then fried. It came with salsa and a white sauce -like garlic sauce.

It was okay. This costed around Php110.00

And then for beverage- we had the house water. Lemon, citrus and sage infused water. Yummy an refreshing. And, a visual treat, as well :)


For dessert, we had:
a. Roti with peaches ala mode sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. This was so yummy but so little. I guess it was so yummy nakakabitin :p
 b. Banana wrapped in pastry, deep fried and then drizzled with carame, bananas and chocolate sauce and ice cream. Yummy as well (Php 120.00)
 c. Rocky road cake. Yum-o!There were walnuts even in the cream in between the cake layers. (Php 75.00)

Overall, the place gets a rating of 7/10. It is a unique, cute place where the eyes not only the mouth can feast.

Sage is located at Military cut-off infront of Small World School.

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Le Chef - John Hay Golf Club

Our family has been graced by God to have friends who are willing to share their blessings to us. And with this, once in a while, our family experiences the good things that a few individuals  regularly experience.


We had this occasional dinner once again at the Le Chef,  John Hay Clubhouse and I just want to share the good things we experienced. 

For the sight:
This flower arrangement greeted us on on the lobby. Lovely and very attractive:

Going down the steps, great lights loomed above us:

The family had their pictures taken near the fireplace. It was so cold when we went there since the area is open and it was almost 5 PM and a bit foggy.


Yep, there is a bulol sitting on the ledge of the fireplace

We also had some pictures taken on the garden outside:



 This one is a view of the golf course from the garden.

For the smell and taste:

First course was bread and butter. This one was on the house. Their bread is so yummy especially the dinner rolls:

We had individual butter each to put in the bread.

My husband, niece and I had mocha latte for our drinks. It was cold there at the clubhouse-- we needed something warm:

The latte was yummy and it was worth the Php 95.00 price tag - competitive with the usual cafes.

For our individual course, I had the baby back ribs with corn muffins and spinach.

There are better baby back ribs in other restos, This one is sweet but can't complain since I chose this and it's for free. I won't post the exact price but it is the 300 range.

We had kids with us thus,  pepperoni pizza and fried chicken.


The pizza was thin crust and the chicken's breading was yummy especially for the kids.

We also had lechon kawali with laing because some of us had beer:

The lechon was sinfully masarap anad the laing was the best. It was so finely grinded and I don't have much words for it other than, super sarap.

Some of us had duck around 300 pesos range:

and mongolian beef around 200 pesos range:

It was a dinner full of burps! and whispered thank you's to God and to our benefactors. :)


Life is good! :)


Total Pageviews